Girl group XG will release its fifth single, “Woke Up,” on May 21, right after kicking off its first world tour in Osaka, Japan on May 18.
“Woke Up” is the group’s first music release in five months after its digital single “Winter Without You” dropped in last December.

A promotional image for the group’s comeback, featuring teeth grills with the letters X and G, was uploaded to its social media pages on Wednesday.

“’Woke Up’ was made with XG’s philosophy of breaking down stereotypes,” Jakops, the group’s chief producer and CEO of its label, XGALX, said in a news release Thursday.
XG, which stands for Xtraordinary Girls, debuted in March 2022 with the single “Tippy Toes.” The girl group consists of Japanese members Jurin, Chisa, Hinata, Maya, Juria, Cocona and Amy Harvey.
XG will embark on its first world tour, “The first HOWL,” this year. Its May concerts in Osaka and Yokohama will be followed by dates in Bangkok, Thailand; Seoul; Kuala Lumpur; Singapore; Manila, the Philippines; and Taipei, Taiwan. The tour will stop in North America in October and Europe in November.

XG – NEW DANCE (Official Multiverse Music Video)
XG – NEW DANCE (Official Music Video)
XG – PUPPET SHOW (Official Music Video)
XG – WINTER WITHOUT YOU (Official Music Video)

Who Are XG?

XG (엑스지) is a seven-member girl group under XGALX. They debuted on March 18, 2022 with the single album “Tippy Toes”.

2017–2021: Pre-debut

The group had a training period of 5 years, starting in 2017 until the end of 2021. They have a hip-hop/R&B concept and are the first group to debut in the new global entertainment production XGALX, which is affiliated with Avex. The group strives to empower young people around the world with their fresh, inventive music and performance.

2022: Introduction, debut with “Tippy Toes”, official fandom name, “Mascara”

On January 25, 2022, Simon Jakops announced his plans to debut his first-ever girl group called XG. That same day, the group’s official social media accounts were established. The next day, the group posted a dance performance teaser featuring all seven members, of which was choreographed and directed by Choi Hyo-jin.[6] Over the following weeks, the group’s abilities were teased through music covers, such as Rob Stone’s “Chill Bill”, Justin Bieber’s “Peaches”, and various dance performance videos.

On February 18, XG’s official debut date was revealed to be March 18. From February 19 through February 25, the seven members of XG were unveiled starting with Harvey, then following Juria, Maya, Hinata, Cocona, Chisa, and finally Jurin. The group officially debuted on March 18 with the release of their first single album, titled “Tippy Toes”.

On May 30, the group announced their first-ever comeback with their second single album, titled “Mascara”. The single was released on June 29.

On July 25, the group announced through an official YouTube video that their official fandom name would be ALPHAZ.

2023: “Shooting Star”, “Grl Gvng”, “TGIF”, “New Dance”, New DNA, “Winter Without You”, first world tour

A motion teaser posted to XG’s official Instagram account on December 29, 2022, hinted at new music from the group. Days later, on January 6, 2023, the group announced that their third single, “Shooting Star”, will be released on January 25. A remix single titled “Shooting Star Remixx (Prod by JAKOPS)” was released on April 7. A remix single titled “Left Right Remixx (Feat. Ciara & Jackson Wang)” was released on May 5, 2023.

On June 27, XG’s official Twitter account posted a teaser photo announcing the group’s plans for their first mini album. The next day, it was announced prior to the release of their first mini album, XG will have a pre-release single titled “Grl Gvng”, out on June 30.

On July 24, the group announced their first mini album, New DNA, will be released on September 27. On August 4, XG released their second digital single, “TGIF”, as the second pre-release digital single for their first mini album. On August 23, XG released their third digital single, “New Dance”, as the third pre-release digital single for their first mini album.

On September 27, the music video for the title track “Puppet Show” was released alongside the mini album.

On November 26, it was revealed that group will release their fourth digital single “Winter Without You” on December 8. Additionally, it was revealed that XG will soon go on their first world tour.

2024: “Woke Up”

On March 27, XG announced that they will be releasing their fourth single album “Woke Up”, on May 21.


NamePosition(s)NationalityYears active
Chisa치사チサSub-Leader, Main VocalistJapanese2017–present
Hinata히나타ヒナタMain Dancer, Sub VocalistJapanese2017–present
Jurin주린ジュリンLeader, Lead Rapper, Main Dancer, VocalistJapanese2017–present
Harvey하비ハーヴィーMain Rapper, Sub VocalistJapanese-Australian2017–present
Juria쥬리아ジュリアMain VocalistJapanese2017–present
Maya마야マヤLead Vocalist, RapperJapanese2017–present
Cocona코코나ココナMain Rapper, MaknaeJapanese2017–present

Check Out The Original Article @ Korea Joong Ang Daily