For the first time since debuting, K-pop group BTOB will be holding a series of fan concerts. They already announced a three-day show in Seoul in March and another one in the Philippines earlier. And now, Hong Kong just got added to the list.

BTOB’s first fan concert in Hong Kong: What you need to know

BTOB made headlines recently when members Seo Eun-kwang, Lee Min-hyuk, Lim Hyun-sik, and Peniel announced that they will continue group activities under a new label, BTOB Company. Lee Chang-sub has already signed with Fantagio since November 2023 while Yook Sun-jae signed iWill Media in December.

Now under new companies, the group will embark on their first fan concert since debuting in 2012. The first three fan concerts will take place in Seoul on March 22 to 24 and then in Manila on April 7. Then, they will make their way to Hong Kong on May 21. As of now, these are the cities that have been announced but fans can expect more in the future.

비투비 (BTOB) – ‘나의 바람 (Wind And Wish)’ Official Music Video

Who Are BTOB?

BTOB (비투비) is a six-member boy group under the BTOB COMPANY. Formed by Cube Entertainment and originally formed as seven, they debuted on 21 March 2012 with their first digital single ‘Insane’. Their name is an abbreviation of “Born To Beat”.

2012: Debut, first comeback with Born To Beat, press play

BTOB officially debuted as a seven member group on 21st March 2012 with their first single “Insane”. They then released their first mini-album, Born to Beat, on the 3rd of April. On the 12th of September, the group made their second comeback with the release of their second mini album Press Play.

2013: Thriller

On 9 September 2013, BTOB returned with the release of their third mini album, Thriller.

2014: Rise in popularity, Move, Japanese debut

Their fourth mini album Beep Beep was released on 17 February 2014. The album’s eponymous title track was produced by Brave Brothers, their first collaboration with the producer. Beep Beep debuted at number 1 on the Gaon Album Chart for the ninth week of 2014, making it their first album to do so. The group released their fifth mini-album Move on the 29th of September. BTOB held their first solo concert, Hello Melody, at the Olympic Hall in the Olympic Park on 31 October and 1 November. On 1 October 2014, it was reported that the group had signed a contract with KISS Entertainment to begin their promotions in Japan. They made their Japanese debut on 12th November with the single “Wow”.

2015: Complete, I Mean

BTOB released their first full-length album, Complete, on 28 June 2015. The title track, “It’s Okay”, was the group’s first ballad title track. Their third Japanese single, “Natsuiro My Girl”, was released on the 19th of August, after the promotion for “It’s Okay” had finished. The group returned to the scene with their seventh mini-album, I Mean, on 12 October. On 21 October, BTOB won their first music show with the title track “Way Back Home” on Show Champion.

2016: Remember That, New Men, 24/7

On 28 March 2016, BTOB released their eighth mini album Remember That, which marked the end of their ballad trilogy. The group returned on 7 November with their ninth mini album, New Men. “I’ll Be Your Man” served as their first dance title track in almost two years. They released their first Japanese full-length album, 24/7, on 7 December 2016.

2017: Feel’eM, Piece of BTOB, Brother Act.

On the 6th of March, BTOB released their 10th mini album, Feel’eM. From April to September, each member of the group released solo digital singles as part of the Piece of BTOB project. Changsub kicked off the project with a self-composed ballad called ‘At the End’. This was followed by Ilhoon’s up-tempo hip-hop track ‘Fancy Shoes’, Peniel’s ‘That Girl’, Hyunsik’s self-produced alternative rock track ‘Swimming’, Minhyuk’s R&B hip-hop track ‘Purple Rain’ featuring vocalist CHEEZE, Sungjae’s ballad track ‘Tell Me’ and its B-side ‘Paradise’, and finally Seo Eun-kwang’s ballad track ‘One Day’ and its B-side ‘Back Then’.

BTOB were awarded their first bonsang at the 1st Soribada Best K-Music Awards on 20 September 2017. After completing their Piece of BTOB project, the group released their second full-length album Brother Act. on 16th October.

2018-2019: This is Us, Hour Moment contract renewal, recruitment

On 11 June 2018, BTOB released a pre-release single, “The Feeling”, before releasing their 11th mini album, This Is Us, on 18 June. On 10 July, it was announced that all seven members had renewed their exclusive contracts with Cube Entertainment. During a VLive broadcast on 13 August, Minhyuk was randomly selected as the group’s second leader as Eunkwang began his military service on 21 August.

On 12 November 2018, the group released their first special album, Hour Moment, without the participation of Eunkwang, who was on hiatus during this time for his military service. Changsub then enlisted on the 14th of January 2019. On 21 March 2019, BTOB celebrated their seventh anniversary and chose a new leader after Minhyuk also enlisted for his military service. Peniel was chosen as the new leader, but due to their previous decision, Sungjae became the third leader.

On 5 April 2019, the digital single “Sorry” was released. It was a song that Eunkwang, Minhyuk and Changsub had prepared before their respective enlistments.

2020-2021: Military service, BTOB 4U, Ilhoon’s departure, 4U:Outside

On the 7th of April 2020, Eunkwang was officially discharged as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. Hyunsik and Sungjae enlisted on the 11th of May, while Ilhoon enlisted on the 28th of May. Changsub was officially discharged on 21 August 2020, followed by Minhyuk on 12 September. Both were discharged earlier due to the current COVID-19 protocol.

On 27 October 2020, Eunkwang, Minhyuk, Changsub and Peniel announced that they had formed the second subunit of the group, BTOB 4U, which debuted on 16 November. On 31 December 2020, Cube Entertainment announced that Ilhoon had officially left BTOB after being caught using marijuana and that the remaining members would continue as a six member group. On 30 August 2021, the group released their special album 4U : Outside and its title track “Outsider”. On 27 October, BTOB released their first Japanese special mini album Outsider. Hyunsik and Sungjae were discharged from the military on 14th November 2021, completing BTOB’s military service. They then participated in BTOB’s Kiss the Radio, which was hosted by Minhyuk. This was their first full group activity in three years.

2022: Be Together, Peniel’s hiatus

Kpoppie Newsroom